BrandyPham Blog


From the bottom of my heart
February 6, 2010, 12:20 pm
Filed under: Family Love, Inspiration

I’m not successful by any means. I haven’t accomplished much in life, or reached my goals and dreams as of yet. But if you don’t ever do anything, how do you expect to become anything? So I’m trying. I’m realistic. I have a day job. It’s a means to an end and it pays the bills… and that’s life. Some days will be bad, but I have to try to focus on the positive.

I’ve been out of design school for almost 4 years now and the fashion industry is a beast, but it’s my passion… I’m not going to lie… that’s why I’m still here. I moved back to NYC a little over a year ago with 2 weeks worth of clothing in my suitcase, slept on a friend’s couch for 2 months, and slowly moved my things up with each visit home to Miami that I was able to take. My dad was fully supportive of my decision for the first time and said, “if you don’t go to New York, you might as well quit now” and it made me so happy to hear his approval after so many years of yelling at me for being stupid for choosing fashion and not medical. Well… he still yells at me for not choosing medical but oh well… =T

You do what you have to do… as long as you stay true to yourself and never forget where you came from… Not everyone is lucky, and some people have to work a lot harder than others to achieve what they want. As long as you keep trying… Please believe that you and only YOU have the all mighty power to make your life however you choose it to be… never let anyone ever tell you that you can’t become who you want to be. Talent and skills can only take you so far, but in life… it’s all about effort… so if it’s not working… put in more effort and be persistent. You make mistakes, you learn from them, and you press on. Always push forward. Like Steve Jobs said in his speech (older entry below), “you have to believe that all your dots will connect.”

And to end this very long entry (longest I’ve ever written)… ehehe… I want to thank my family, friends, and everyone in between for all the support and love you’ve given me throughout the years. My heart swells up with love and happiness and you inspire me to keep going… so from the bottom of my heart… THANK YOU.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

big things WILL pop. ❤

Comment by juley

Thanks boo =) ❤ I wanted to comment on your American Sector post but it doesn't let me. Besh's restaurant is beautiful and the food looks so yummy!!! Mmmm, grilled cheese with tomato soup! *drool*

Comment by Brandy

GREAT POST. I have the same feelings & i love the Steve Jobs speech. It gives me inspiration all the time. Im so thankful of all the support I get from friends, family and customers. I love your clothes and so wish I could buy some piece. Well actually all the pieces. Keep working cause the right people are noticing. Your up next babe

Comment by tasha

Thanks Tasha! =) You too, keep up the good work.

Comment by Brandy

Your past reminds me of my present right now. I have made up my mind and decided to move to NYC as well. But the only thing is I have a problem deciding what my dream is and what I want to pursue. I did medical and decided I won’t be happy with that with the rest of my life. So, in the meantime while I am up in NYC I guess I’ll do that to pay the bills. In summary, your motivation to do what you really want to do has inspired me even more so. My parents also decided to support me and it feels so good that they do! Hope the best for you!

Comment by Trish

That’s amazing! Do you, and do what you have to do. Everything will eventually fall into place if you just trust your gut. Good luck with all your endeavors Trish =)

Comment by Brandy




Leave a Reply

